Day 1

Michael, Callie, and I headed out of the much too hot, Anza Borrego desert the morning of July 24th. When packing up suitcases, it was always a stress for Callie because in the past we dropped her off at the Holiday Pet Hotel in Leucadia, California. This particular hotel spoiled Callie rotten. She received a 30 minute private petting session and access to the common play area once a day. The staff adored her and always told me what a happy, well adjusted cat she is. But it still wasn’t quite enough for her!  And incidentally, my holidays away were wonderful. Yet something was always missing….HER!

We decided to make her our official travel companion. When loading up the car, I always plan ahead with Callie in mind. We stack the suitcases behind the driver’s seat so that Callie can ride on top of our suitcases. This allows me to attend to her every whim, let her to be a part of the grand plan, and gives her a first class window seat. She has become so comfortable in the car, that she hangs her front paws and head out the window with the wind whipping through her fur. I, of course, am holding her by the back legs and with the leash so that she doesn’t fall out. People roll their windows down at intersections to smile and wave and say hello to her.

Our first destination was Mammoth Lakes… 

3 thoughts on “Day 1

  1. Gayle August 20, 2016 / 6:10 pm

    What a beautiful cat with such a personality. I can’t imagine traveling with my cat and am happy to leave her at home. The pic of you two on the Rock is amazing, you must give her a good sense of safety. Looking forward to more adventures.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lara D August 23, 2016 / 11:23 pm

    I’m so happy that you’ve made this blog! Looking forward to hearing all about Callie!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sevenfauesisters August 23, 2016 / 11:26 pm

      Thank you so much Lara for helping me. You are a gifted teacher and I felt totally supported with the learning curve. It is going to be a fabulous mode of artistic expression for me and I am very appreciative, Callie thinks it is about time that we turned her into a star…*****!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

