Yosemite National Park and side trip to Convict Lake!

On June 20, 2016, Michael, Callie, a good friend, Fred and myself, drove to Yosemite Valley from Mammoth and spent the day exploring all the sights. Fred is an expert guide and his love and knowledge of waterfalls is especially delightful and informative.  Yosemite Valley was very crowded and I was dismayed to see that the pine-bore-beetle, is leaving its destructive mark on the pine trees. All in all though, there is nothing like Yosemite. Callie had a wonderful time and even got to see her first deer. When she sees something new and exciting, she has a funny way of leaning out the window and then pulling her head back in disbelief. Her body language is adorable, and it reminds me of a turtle. She also makes eye contact with me to see how I am handling the situation. If I appear excited and pleased with what I see, Callie follows my lead.  It is so rewarding to expose her to new adventures because of this lovely trait. She is trusting and curious and I would do anything to protect her. While in Mamouth, we also visited Convict Lake and Callie did her first 3 mile hike.  I had to carry her most of the way as I had yet to buy the front pack, but I will attest to the fact that she did her best to walk as much of the way as she could. We even had a 7 horse caravan clomping noisily past us, and she just looked on with amazement. It was also quite warm, and the trail was mostly in the sun, but when we reached the walkway that covers the glacier melt runoff, and we were surrounded by dancing birch trees, and a blast of fresh, cool, air…wow, what  an experience!  I seriously doubt that there has been another cat that has hiked around Convict Lake, but would love to hear from anyone who knows of such a thing!

Our good friend, Fred- best trail guide and waterfall hunter around!

Check out the deer!

One thought on “Yosemite National Park and side trip to Convict Lake!

Leave a Reply

