The Cat’s Pajamas

It has been awhile since I last posted a blog, and I thought since I have no plans for travel just yet, I would take a side trip and talk about cats and their preference for any bed other than the one you spent money on. I am sure I am not alone in this predicament.  I shop at Petco or Petsmart and I have found a vast array of beautiful beds ranging from inexpensive to spending a fortune. The difficult part comes not from whether you will find an awesome bed, but whether your cat will bother to sleep in it. Callie seems to love any new bed I bring home for a couple of weeks or so, and then she won’t touch it, and leaps away in disdain when I attempt to encourage her. She goes from having a love affair with her new bed, to breaking off the relationship with no possibility of reconciliation.  Attempts at getting her back in the bed are met with all four legs spread and claws extended and an absolute aversion to even touching it. After several years of dealing with this problem, I have chanced upon a solution. One trick I have discovered, that I thought I would share, is leaving the bed in a place where it shouldn’t be. There is something about a cat’s nature that drives a cat to do exactly what it isn’t suppose to do, and Callie is no exception. She thrives on the feeling that she just might get into trouble and finding the bed in the least expected place must have  sent a thrill up her spine. So, I bought this incredible “Kong” bed, that looks like a little fluffy house, and even has a darling stuffed feather bird dangling in the entranceway. It is plush and beautiful and goes with my decor. Now, what cat wouldn’t love this new bed? It is roomy and cozy and a dream to look at.  I love this bed…. After much reflection, I placed it up on top of the TV cabinet in the master bedroom and waited for her to discover it. It didn’t take long! You know how cats are, they are always exploring their territory and some days act like they have never been there before. Coming across something unexpected must be a joyous occasion. When Callie found the new bed, I am sorry to say, I wasn’t around to witness it. What I did find, is Callie blissed out and curled up, sleeping inside her new house bed about three days after purchasing it, and it brought me to my happy dance. This lasted for about a week and I could hardly believe my good fortune. On the second week she started to do her usual rejection routine, when she discovered she could stomp on the roof of the bed and truly make it her own. Several times I have straightened up the roof and each time she would jump back up on the roof and flatten it out. It doesn’t look nearly as comfortable, nor does it look like some nice addition to my home anymore,  but she is determined to sleep on the roof.  This bed has not lost its appeal and it is going on several months now because I think she knows I want to straighten out the roof, fluff up the blanket, and ask her to sleep inside where she belongs. I swear she knows it is bothering me that the house is all smashed in and she is sleeping on the roof. It looks ugly now, but at least she is still enjoying her bed, so I am controlling the impulse to straighten out the collapsed roof and try not to complain. The secret to keeping Callie happy, is compromise on my part, and letting her have a say in what she likes and doesn’t like, and then letting her think she is getting away with murder.

2 thoughts on “The Cat’s Pajamas

  1. humanity777 September 22, 2016 / 8:01 pm

    Oh…if cats could talk. Beauty…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gayle September 23, 2016 / 3:22 pm

    Hilarious Joan, sure enjoy reading about that rascally Cali. Your pictures are beautiful to look at.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

