I Have Met My Match!

As I have mentioned before, Callie came to me as a runaway, and it has been a give and take love affair ever since. She is the most engaging cat I have ever known, and her personality trait that stands out the most, is CHARM! She will charm her way into any given situation and disciplining her is a challenge because she’s so sweet. I really did make an effort in the beginning of our relationship, to be the alpha female and to keep her from sleeping in the bed with us. I have never allowed a pet to sleep with me before Callie. I sprayed her with water, I forcefully grabbed her and threw her out of the bedroom, shutting the door, and nothing has worked. She would press her cute little pink nose under the door jam and howl her disapproval, until you reluctantly let her back in. Then she would quietly sneak back up to the foot of the bed, where she felt she belonged, and try not to move. She could only hope I wouldn’t notice, until she would explode again into a loud purr of such bliss that it would make you smile at the innocence of it all. You can’t help but love her because she has learned the art of seduction and charm and it just seems to come natural to her. She charms her way into getting you to be her slave. I am now willingly getting up at night to feed her, and she will sleep right between my husband and me if the latest bed I bought doesn’t suit her, and there is nothing I can do about it, unless I want to feel guilty and mean hearted. She is family and families should sleep together.  At night when it is time for her to go to bed, she tries to herd me into the bedroom where I belong. She gets pouty if I stay up past my usual bedtime. When we head off to bed, you can just see the smile on her face and her happiness at going off to bed together.  She is so social and vocal, and thinks of herself as a high standing member of the family, that you can’t help but treat her as an equal. Every once in awhile she displays a wild and crazy side, and I have to play a game I call, “rough and tumble” playtime, to work off the pent up energy. It is important that I establish who is stronger and more dominant because torties, or calico cats, are known for being big cats in little bodies; just like Jack Russel Terriers are famous for. So, I rough her up within an inch or her life until she cries out for MERCY! You have to engage them in numerous activities, and keep them occupied and stimulated, and make sure they know that you are the boss, or you will be in big trouble. I have met my match with Callie, and have accepted the fact that she wins most of the small battles, but all I have to do is give in and try not to be so up tight about our relationship. She is just a little cat trying to make a big impression in her life. I haven’t figured out where to draw the line yet, but I am trying to hold onto some kind of dominance.  Ya, right…sure  I am. Dream on… She is a tiny little cat with a giant personality, and all she wants is to be loved, and of course, to get her way….  

2 thoughts on “I Have Met My Match!

  1. Donna September 29, 2016 / 4:54 pm

    Can you imagine her and cupcake together in the same house. Two bosses….Cupcake still thinks she can be the boss… but she’s getting better!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sevenfauesisters September 29, 2016 / 4:57 pm

      So good to hear about Cupcake… yes, Callie loves dogs though and would have put her in her place. Either that or they would have killed each other…😱

      Like

Leave a Reply

