Are You Asleep-Or Are Your Eyes Just Shut Tight?

We are doing it! We are flying to Huntsville, Alabama to check out our 2009 Icon Class C on Sunday. We need to first drive to Encinitas, California to drop Callie off at Holiday Pet Hotel, (and I am sure she is going to be thrilled about that) have lunch with friends, and then continue on to San Diego to stay at the Vagabond Motel for one night. Sunday morning we head to Huntsville via United Airlines and arrive at 5:30 pm. We won’t be able to check out the RV until Monday. If all goes well and the RV passes inspection, we will load up and head for California. I have never driven an RV before, but I am a quick learner, and if by chance any of my readers are out on Interstate 40, and I am within your line of vision, give me plenty of room. I will keep my fingers crossed for a safe passage. Michael and I are going to try and take turns with the driving and put in 15 hour days. It is a 1,980 mile drive and we hope to do it in 4 days….

It has been a cold and rainy day in the desert, but I love rainy days. Callie is resting up on her round bed on the hutch in the master bedroom. I have been playing with her on the tile floor with a catnip mouse, and when she is lying down and shredding it to bits, biting the tail off, and sinking her teeth into its cute little skull, I grab her by the back legs and twirl her. She refuses to let go of the mouse and gets quite the ride as she goes spinning round and round on the smooth, slick floor. I bet it makes her just a tad bit dizzy! She needs to be treated rough and tumble every day in order to rest properly, and take long naps. I must have really worn her out this morning because she is still sleeping and it is past noon.

So today is a day to pack and prepare for our journey. I won’t get out the suitcases until later because it breaks my heart to see her ill at ease. But it is also kind of fun to think of it as pay back for all the middle of the night pats I receive, to find out if I am asleep, or if my eyes are just shut tight!?



Leave a Reply

