Morro Rock

The rock in the middle of Morro Bay is actually a volcanic plug, or neck of an ancient volcano. It is located just off shore from the bay, and is the best known of the nine sisters of San Luis Obispo. Morro Rock is home to seals and gulls with starlings that rush by in large flocks that fly in unison, and look like smoke from a distance. You can hear the fog horn at night, and the shrieking of seagulls and barking of seals in the daytime. Morro Rock is a State Historic Landmark that was formed about 23 million years ago. It has the nickname of the Gibraltar of the Pacific, and is formidable to look at. This evening after a lovely day of visiting with my sister and brother in law, I rushed down at sunset to take photographs. The colors were molten with people milling about and the otters were back in the harbor grooming themselves, and sleeping contentedly. Otters have to constantly groom in order to keep their luscious fur waterproof. It was a lovely evening and I was glad I ran out to take photographs. Callie of course was more than willing to help me write my blog at the end of the day. 





5 thoughts on “Morro Rock

  1. Gerald L. Craig July 4, 2017 / 8:10 am

    Morro Rock is also a home for the endangered Peregrine Falcon. I certainly would not want to see Callie be in the wrong place at the wrong time. One of my cats was a rescue from a wild area outside a coastal town and was almost taken by an owl the night I found him. He had lived on his own in fear and the first time I let him outside at my home he kept looking skyward as if he was still in fear. He is over it, but we do have a lot of birds of prey with falcons, hawks, and eagles. It is a great place for wildlife and nature. I have seen pictures of Morro Rock before they started blasting away pieces to make harbors with the big rocks. Oh, and did you know there used to be a stairway to the top? Anyway, I’ll have a little info on Morro Rock and a lot of other areas around San Luis Obispo County in my blog, where you can also find affordable dining and drinks when you are here. It is a great place to visit, and especially live.

    Liked by 1 person

    • sevenfauesisters July 4, 2017 / 12:45 pm

      Thank you for all your insights! Callie is kept on a leash and halter at all times. I don’t let her run free when traveling. I love Morro Bay and I too wish to see areas kept wild for wildlife. I had a jack russel that I was walking with and a huge barn owl swept over us and abandoned the thought of carrying her off in its talons because I threw my arms up in the air and hollered. I will check out your blog. Have a fabulous 4th and keep your pets safe from the fireworks. We have kestrels attempting to wean their fledglings and boy do they put up a fuss about having to be in their own. Their cries of protest are echoed all over the desert. I live next to the Anza Borrego Desert State Park. One of the largest State Parks in California. It has gotten to 124.7 degrees out here. I can only allow Callie outside with supervision.

      Liked by 1 person

    • sevenfauesisters July 4, 2017 / 12:59 pm

      I was not able to check out your blog. Please send me a link. I did. It know there use to be a stairway to the top. Thank goodness we stay off the rock now and leave it to the wildlife!

      Like

      • Gerald L. Craig July 6, 2017 / 8:00 am

        Thanks for asking. My blog is http://SLORestaurantDeals.wordpress.com and I will be adding a page on Morro Bay next week. You’ll want to check my community pages for more info on our area. One of my cats was feral when I found it, and had almost been caught by an owl. I also had a dog that was half Jack Russell, the smartest dog I ever had. Anyway, I had to keep my cats inside with doors and windows shut so the booms outside wouldn’t spook them. It all worked out. My friend complains when one of our local cities hits 107 and he wouldn’t go to Death Valley with me when it was 120 lol.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

