Two Men a Raven and a Seagull

Michael, Callie and I are staying at The Cypress RV Park in Morro Bay for one week. We had previously thought we would go as far as Carmel and Monterey on this trip, but we are having such a great time here, we have decided to stay. We also want to make sure that Callie continues to improve from her upper respiratory infection before we leave.

When staying put in a neighborhood, if you are observant, you will begin to see little dramas playing out all around you. Our RV is backed into its space, with the front facing the ocean and Morro Rock, and the 3 smokestacks to the right. Across the street are 2 men, a raven and a seagull that have a relationship with one another. The men live in a small trailer and are scruffy and gruff; but leave one slice of bread for each bird, once a day on a fence post. The raven waits patiently on the telephone wire above and the seagull paces anxiously down below. This morning, the seagull actually had a gift of a bunch of grasses in his or her beak, which it dropped at the foot of the fence post. When one of the men comes out of the trailer to place the bread on the post, one or the other of the birds will get to it first. If the raven gets the bread, the seagull takes to the air and circles around in the sky and squawks in protest until a second piece of bread is placed on the fence post.  If the seagull grabs the bread first, the raven caws and barks on the wire quite loudly until it gets a piece of bread. The seagull has to be very careful when it paces on the ground because there is a gray cat that tries to attack it. The raven has the ability to grasp the wire, while the seagull can only place its webbed feet on flat surfaces. This little drama unfolds every morning, and the 4 of them seem to take quite a bit of pleasure out of such a small act of generosity.

Now that I am a writer, I have become more aware of my surroundings. I have always been observant though. My daughter would chide me gently when we would be sitting in a restaurant because I would stare at people and wonder what their story was. It would make my daughter a little unconfortable because I would stare so intently.  I wouldn’t even be aware that I was doing it.  But it pays to be curious and interested in all that is going on around you if you are a writer. I would never have noticed, 2 men, a raven and a seagull if I had not been! Now Callie and I can stare and feel absolutely no guilt…..









Leave a Reply

