The Grace & Wisdom of a Morning Person

I can’t believe I was able to get Michael up at 5:30 for a bike ride to Coyote Canyon before it got too hot! As I have mentioned before, Michael is NO morning person, and I am a WORSE night person. He use to try and entice me to stay up later in the evening, but soon discovered I am just too mean and bitchy if I don’t get my beauty rest! I am usually prone to letting him sleep in if he stayed up late the night before, but because it is starting to get really hot, I am determined to wake him up early in order to get some excercise before the oven is cranked up in the desert. We really don’t have a choice in the matter if we want to play outdoors , SO GAME ON!!! He is going to have to become a morning person during the summer season whether he likes it or not. He will probably be cranky so I will have to somehow find the grace and wisdom to turn the other cheek while encouraging him to become a morning person. Today I succeeded in getting him out of bed and up on our bikes by 5:45! With helmets and gloves on, we joyously headed to Coyote Canyon in Anza Borrego Desert State Park.

Fortunately for us, the Henderson Canyon mountain range prevented the sun from beating down on our heads for most of the ride heading out, and we managed to make it in one hour to the Desert Gardens sign, which is about 3 miles. It is a slight incline to the sign with patches of deep sand and rough, rocky terrain. It was still cool enough and all you could hear were birds singing and our bikes clanking along as we bounced off rocks and slid along in sandy soil. I have to admit that I love it! There is something about it that is almost like horseback riding. My bike handled really well and I have learned to stand up if it gets too rocky, brake with only the back brake, and keep your weight on the back wheel while guiding the handlebars in an S shape when you hit deep sand. I haven’t crashed yet and I hope to ward it off until the far future. I have been accident prone most of my life and have sustained life threatening injuries, so I would like to think that I am learning at least a few lessons in my older age from all the previous mistakes, and can attempt a new sport with regard for my safety….

When we made it to the Gardens Sign, we took a water break and I was able to take a few photographs before we turned around and headed back down to Di Giorgio and home. Going downhill has its own quirky navigational tricks, but all in all it was a fun trip. Now that we are home in our air conditioned house, my face is still flushed from the adventure that took us 2 hours round trip. We made it home at 8:00 and it was only a mild 94 degrees out! It will peak at 104 today, but I will be too tired to feel restless and have absolutely no desire to be outside. That is the beauty of an early morning workout at the start of a desert summer, heat spell. You will sit around in a stupor and feel the contentment of one who has survived a near death experience!





Leave a Reply

