How to Present your Beloved with a Moth

If you have been following my blog, you will know that bird is off the menu for Callie. She has been thwarted from nabbing birds since I first met her and decided to adopt her as a frightened and lost, stray of about 3 years old. One time my husband witnessed her sailing by sideways when he was sitting outside in the garden, and she was trying to catch a hummingbird 5 ft up in the air. Another story I have shared is about the cocky mockingbird. This time she did manage to pounce and flatten the poor ( who only recently was singing away and hopping up and down our patio sidewalk. He didn’t see her hiding alongside a planter by the pool and hopped right into her waiting and outstretched paws. He managed to let out a screech before I was able to smack Callie and the bird flew away with just a few of his beautiful but ruffled, white, wing feathers missing. He was a very lucky bird and I never again saw him land in our back yard and prance around like he owned the place. He did survive and was able to raise a family two palm trees down the street. So Callie doesn’t have many options when presenting me with a gift. She knows that scorpions are dangerous and the lizards around here have as of yet, been far too fast for her. So the lovely moth will have to do as a present. I feel bad for the moths, but I can’t keep her away from everything that moves. The only problem when presenting this gift to me, is that when she gets close enough to tell me that she has a present for me, she opens up her mouth and out flutters the wet but still alive, moth. When she announces that she has a treasure for me, the moth flies away, a little worse for wear. If she could just manage to keep quiet about it. She could drop it with pizazz, right at my feet!





Leave a Reply

